河 – River

After much prevaricating, the most challenging task was completed ahead of the Technical Grading. As before, I found developing my creative kata was so, so difficult, for many reasons…this is something I knew was coming but didn’t know how to begin.

It’s named River for no other reason than this was the name that came to me after working with Mrs M, as the ideas seemed to flow after a bit of work … Patchwork may be a more accurate title, however 😉

This kata reflects me & my martial arts: there are a few controlled kicks, but nothing spectacular & XMA style, but there are a variety of different moves, not much repetition & I tried to hit my stances — which was a challenge during the technical as I was shaking so much.

My strategy for next time (!) is simply to stitch together favourite bits of various katas…which is mostly what this one was made up of, including some that I’ve seen but not yet learnt.

I am grateful to Thomas & Mr P for support & advice, Mrs P for finding a perfect partner for my karambit, Master Marsh for lending me the Dojo for a morning and most of all to Sensei (Mrs) Margetts for being the very best ideas springboard.

One thought on “河 – River”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.